Loud And Quiet Magazine Interview Africa Express


Africa Express’ Stephen Budd caught up with Paddy Kinsella from Loud and Quiet Magazine to discuss the state of music in Mali today and the making of ‘Maison Des Jeunes’ (now available on CD.)
Read the full interview here and watch out for some hints about Africa Express projects in the pipeline!

Andy Morgan Takes Us Through Mali’s Hip Hop Scene



Writer and member of the Africa Express team,  Andy Morgan goes deep into Malian Hip Hop and Rap in his piece for Red Bull Music Academy. In his article, The Voice of The Voiceless, Morgan explores the political poignance of contemporary hip hop in Mali. Read this insightful look at the country’s changing musical landscape here.



Toumani and Sidiki ‘Father & Son’ Documentary


Toumani Diabaté and his son Sidiki release their brand new album ‘Toumani and Sidiki‘ on May 5th. ‘Father & Son’, is the two part documentary that tells the story of this special collaboration.  ‘If West Africa was a person, the griot would be the blood in this body’ says Toumani. Watch the world renowned kora player  discuss griot ancestry, the tensions between modern and ancient sounds and much more in the videos below.
Toumani and Sidiki is released on May 5th and can be pre ordered now at World Circuit. 

Part 1

Part 2

Exclusive: Stream Gambari and Olugbenga ‘Wade In The Water’


Record Store Day is nearly upon us. So here’s a taster of what the deluxe edition Maison Des Jeunes LP sounds like. Hear Olugbenga, Kankou Kouyaté and her band Gambari on their version of the old classic ‘Wade In The Water’, exclusively available on the double vinyl LP coming April 19th!

For updates on what we’re listening to at Africa Express HQ, follow us on soundcloud.

New Video: ‘Dougoude Sarrafo’ by Bijou


It’s just a few days until Record Store Day (April 19th), and the much awaited release of the Limited Edition Blue Vinyl LP of Maison Des Jeunes. The CD edition will be available from April 21st, preorder here. In the meantime, watch the new video (above) of Bijou singing ‘Dougoudé Sarrafo’ at the Maison Des Jeunes Studio in Bamako.

Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes was made possible with the support of Arts Council England.

New Video: ‘Deni Kelen Be Koko’ by Lobi Treore Band (prod. by Django Django’s Dave Maclean)


‘Deni Kelen Be Koko’ by Lobi Treore Band (feat. Seye on bass) was produced by Django Django’s Dave Maclean during Africa Express’ week in Bamako. Check out the newly released video above, featuring behind the scenes footage of the Maison Des Jeunes studio in Bamako.

Maison Des Jeunes (physical release April 21st) is available to preorder now.
We’re also releasing a limited edition vinyl for Record Store Day on April 19th. Find out more here.